27 Sep, 2022
06:22:49 AM
Indian Flag
Skip to main content A- A A+

Information about State, District, Taluka Legal Services Authorities

Mr. Ranjan Gogoi


Hon'ble Mr. Justice Uday Umesh Lalit
Chief Justice of India

Read More
A. K. Sikri

Executive Chairman

Hon'ble Dr. Justice D.Y. Chandrachud
Executive Chairman

Read More



The National Legal Services Authority (NALSA) has been constituted under the Legal Services Authorities Act, 1987 to provide free Legal Services to the weaker sections of the society and to organize Lok Adalats for amicable settlement of disputes.

Hon’ble Mr. Justice Uday Umesh Lalit, The Chief Justice of India is the Patron-in-Chief. Hon'ble Dr. Justice D. Y. Chandrachud,Judge,Supreme Court of India is Executive Chairman NALSA. NALSA is housed at Supreme Court of India, Tilak Marg, New Delhi, Delhi(110001). The NALSA Centre for Citizen Services is set up at Jaisalmer House,Man Singh Road, New Delhi-110011. It is working during office hours on all working days.

In every State, State Legal Services Authority has been constituted to give effect to the policies and directions of the NALSA and to give free legal services to the people and conduct Lok Adalats in the State.  The State Legal Services Authority is headed by Hon’ble the Chief Justice of the respective High Court who is the Patron-in-Chief of the State Legal Services Authority.A Seniormost Judge of High Court is nominated as Executive Chairman, SLSA. 

In every District, District Legal Services Authority has been constituted to implement Legal Services Programmes in the District. The District Legal Services Authority is situated in the District Courts Complex in every District and chaired by the District Judge of the respective district.A Civil Judge Cadre Judicial Officer is appointed as Secretary on full time basis.

History of Leg...



Mr. Ashok Kumar Jain

Member Secretary

Mr. Ashok Kumar Jain

Read More



Read More


Websites of State Legal Services Authorities